The #N8 Experience! Part 1

Tweeting is what I live on. And a few days back a tweet caught my attention. It was from the @WOMWorldNokia to @aravindkumar. It was stating that they had read a tweet mentioning something about the N8, and they were happy to him try the device for 2 weeks Free Of Cost. Seeing this I thought of asking them for the same and Mr. ^PC who responded to my tweet asked me to mail him with a few details.

I got in touch with him and after filling in the N8 Trial Agreement, the Logistics at WOMWorldnokia got in touch with me and gave me the AWB number to track the device. The device reached me in 6 days, thanks to the delay at the Chennai Airports Customs Clearance Unit. But once I received the device I forgot everything and started exploring it.

In the box :
I received In-Ear headphones. Charger. Data cable. HDMI cable. Everything was fresh. Even the device was no less than new.

OS:
Symbian^3 or S^3 as its normally called of which N8 was the first device to run on is good. You don’t feel much of a difference after using the Symbian 60 Version 5 as almost everything over there you see is same. But the only thing which i felt good about S^3 was that it was a little better in feel and the response is better than S60.

Built:
The body of the N8 is made up of strong aluminium and is nice. The glass screen is scratch proof so you don’t have to worry about the scratches while using it. But if u drop it over road, you are sure of getting some marks. πŸ˜‰

Battery:
The black color handset was of no use without a network connection. So i got the 3G activated over my BSNL number and to tell you frankly, it was an awesome experience. You cant enjoy the N8 to the fullest until you are on the 3G network but with it the battery drains out too quickly. The battery of N8 is concealed inside the handset and is not removable. The 1200 mAh battery is not very much enough for a device like N8 which has so many features to use. We all know that 3G network eats up the battery too quickly but N8s battery drains in some 3 – 3 and 1/2 hours with the use 3G and the full featured app Gravity, by which you can use Twitter, Facebook, Foursquare and many more other services. As Gravity makes use of GPS and that too over the 3G network, the battery is eaten up quickly. But over the 2G network it holds on for upto 10 – 11 hours. πŸ™‚

Screen and Touch:
Nokia N8s gorilla glass screen, 360 x 640 pixels 3.5 inch touchscreen can really handle lots of pressure and mishandle. It is scratch -proof so its awesome.
As I started using the device, it was a little tough to get used to the touch interface as the touch in Nokia 5233 is too hard and here it is too sensitive. But after an hour it was nice to use. The only think not good about the screen is that while using it you could end up seeing your fingerprint over the screen.

So this the part 1 of the review and Part 2 of it will follow soon!

Do leave your comments over this post.

Thanks. πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “The #N8 Experience! Part 1”

  1. I have too used N8 and its awesome at each and every angle but only one thing I dislike is the 1200mAh battery. This is the main set back of N8. People are moving fast, nearly 8 to 10 or even more hours of work and in that no time to charge your battery, so it is very difficult to handle over N8. This is the fact that Samsung SGS gives 1650mAh battery in its device then why not Nokia? All things are fine, but only this set back don’t allow me to use N8. Whereas, in E6, which I use have touch and type and still have 1500mAh battery and works very fine and lasts till 7 to 8 hours in 3G

  2. JayGohel :

    I have too used N8 and its awesome at each and every angle but only one thing I dislike is the 1200mAh battery. This is the main set back of N8. People are moving fast, nearly 8 to 10 or even more hours of work and in that no time to charge your battery, so it is very difficult to handle over N8. This is the fact that Samsung SGS gives 1650mAh battery in its device then why not Nokia? All things are fine, but only this set back don’t allow me to use N8. Whereas, in E6, which I use have touch and type and still have 1500mAh battery and works very fine and lasts till 7 to 8 hours in 3G

    Rightly said. Well now getting the E7 next week. Lets see how’s that.

  3. Hello! I have the nokia N8 about a week ago, i read your post and even i’m write right now from it πŸ™‚ it’s an amazing device, fast, strong, good apps and excelent camera. I have add many music, docs, install many aplications and games almost 150mb each one and it’s amazing the way you can storage everything! Before i had use n97 (5mpx 32gb) and n85 (5mpx 8gb) and this devices bring all the good stuff and even more. Enjoy the best you can because you can do everything from this wonderful phone. Best regards!
    William πŸ™‚

  4. Even Samsung Galaxy S II doesn’t behave well with 3G in use. If you want to extract maximum battery outta your phone, be it Nokia device or Android phone, being on 2G connection is the way out.

  5. I use my N8 in the US on 3G all the time. Its battery life is far better than that of my HD7, Samsung Vibrant and even my Sidekick 4G! I

  6. Lili :

    I use my N8 in the US on 3G all the time. Its battery life is far better than that of my HD7, Samsung Vibrant and even my Sidekick 4G! I

    That’s nice. But i was just putting up my experience. Yes is does differ on many points such as how old your device is, how many charges it has already taken. While 3G is in ON mode, there may also be times when it’s idle, etc. The time frame which i got is on full use. πŸ™‚

    1. Oh yes I was not doubting your numbers. I suspect though that the SGS, HD7 et al would likely fair far worse used as you do πŸ™‚
      It appears that Symbian is more power efficient than Android or WP7.

  7. Thats a very well written post and would love to read the part 2 soon…. Battery is something which totally depends on various factors, you cant compare it with other users as all are doing here. But still 1200mAh is not what you expect in a smartphone. Even my Nokia 5235 got 1320mAh. Lol

Leave a comment